A Transgender Catholic’s Thanksgiving

images asa

A lot of times it can seem like being transgender is all tears and sighs, but Thanksgiving is a great time to improve our perspective. There is so much good in my life, and I want to take a moment to thank God for the lot of it.

Thank God for life. Thank God for the life around me, for being alive, for the universe. Thank God for the chance to participate in this crazy, awesome, upside-down world.

Thank God for making me.

Thank God for my weird body. Thank God for my mysterious soul. Thank God for the bizarre but incredible relationship between them.

Thank God for making me born male. Thank God for all the strange but strengthening experiences that have come from growing up in a male world. Thank God for allowing me to be able to see both sides of reality, both the masculine and feminine.

Thank God for making me born a girl. Thank God for the beauty of being alive in the world as a woman. Thank God for allowing me to finally accept this part of me. Thank God for my intuition, creativity, sensitivity, compassion, and joy. Thank God for making my soul so beautiful.

Thank God for making me born transgender. Thank God for making me complicated. Thank God for giving me such a unique place in His plan. Thank God for allowing me the privilege of being different.

Thank God for having a special place in His heart for His transgender sons and daughters. Thank God for His love.

Thank God for friends. Thank God for their acceptance.

Thank God for family. Thank God for their love, even when they don’t understand.

Thank God for making me born Catholic. Thank God for all the cool things about the Catholic faith, like Carmelites and incense and icons and social justice and St. Augustine and far-off missions and charismatics and chant music and G. K. Chesterton and cathedrals and Dorthy Day and Pope Francis and monk-brewed beer and joy and Eucharistic miracles and the full text of the Book of Esther and making sex a sacrament and the fact that the most exalted person in Heaven is a poor village girl named Mary and Knights Templar and the catacombs and the communion of Saints and humility and 1 Corinthians 13:13.

Thank God for life. Thank God for starry nights and midnight premiers and cupcake cookies and golden retrievers and boats and cranberry sauce and folk music and creative insomnia and facebook procrastination and the poetry of T. S. Eliot and the beauty within and ginger tea and hope and thrift shops and meditation and blueberries and old magazines that can be used for collages and leather-bound books and clove cigars and late nights and love and war and the sea in between.

Thank God for the sake of giving thanks. Thank God for God. Thank God for thanksgiving. Thanks for the lot of it.

Leave a Reply

